My Scrappylife

manic monday

Posted on: January 12, 2009

1. this will be a very crazy week. i still have to finish some paperwork for the office before i leave next week. aaargh. so little time. so much to do!!! i’m actually squeezing blog time during my 15-minute break.

2. i highly recommend this book to those who love to food (whether it be eating it or cooking it) like me:

kulinarya_prev

got mine from NBS and i plan to give one to Tna and one for my Ninang (as her pasalubong when i see her in SanFo this Feb). i love how it somehow provides a simple structure to cooking. lots of technique and the photos of the food are simply mouth-watering.

so far, i’ve tried the lechon kawali, pinakbet, maja blancaย and the pan de sal. mark loved the lechon kawali. the process is a little bit tedious but to hear the crunch as mark ate it made it all worthwhile ๐Ÿ™‚ note, however, some typo errors (ex. in the pan de sal recipe, they forgot to add the shortening to the procedure although it is listed as one of the ingredients). unfortunately, i had to tweak the recipe for maja blanca – when i followed the recipe, it didn’t turn out the way i wanted it to turn out. parang kulang sa cornstarch yung recipe and it was tooooooo sweet for my taste. so i added more cornstarch and halved the sugar. i also didn’t like the recipe for pan de sal as it called for shortening. i prefer my pan de sal with milk and butter as ingredients. i like this recipe much better.

but despite all these, the book is a great addition to anyย food lover’sย library. i plan to try the rellenong manok soon. i just have to learn how to debone a chicken – procedure is included in the book. ๐Ÿ™‚

3. in other news, watch out for something BIG from ScrapbooksHawaii soon. ๐Ÿ™‚ got a peek yesterday and all i can say is “wowzah!!!!”

4. celebrated mark’s birthday last saturday with friends and family. he says it’s one of his best birthdays to date (despite certain drawbacks. ask Ruben. hehee). ๐Ÿ™‚

and despite it being hisย birthday, he also gave me a gift. ๐Ÿ™‚ i’ve been having problems with my old phone and when we got to the mall last saturday (had to buy isa new house clothes because her belly button is already peaking under her shirt…hehehe…) he asked me which of these i prefer:

oakley-betray

e71

can you see the grin plastered on my face? ๐Ÿ™‚ i’ve had my eye on these for some time but i realized i could buy the Oakley Betray when i go to SFO (it is actually cheaper there by as much as P2500. sayang din yun.)

and i absolutely looooooove this phone! ๐Ÿ™‚ it makes texting actually easier for me what with the qwerty keypad. i no longer have to press a button repeatedly just so i could type the letter i want. one click lang ok na! and the battery life is amaaaaazing, too.ย  i’ve been using the factory charge since saturday and i have yet to charge the battery. Romely’s hubby has the same phone and he says that even if you are a heavy phone user, the battery would last even up to 3 days.

5. ok … my break is over. i have to get back to work. hopefully i can tick most of the things off my list today. wish me luck!! ๐Ÿ™‚

4 Responses to "manic monday"

Got our own copy of Kulinarya from Powerbooks about two months ago. ๐Ÿ™‚ I haven’t read it yet, hopefully soon. I actually read about it in the Inquirer’s feature of Anthony Bourdain’s visit to Claude Tayag’s resto. He gave Bourdain a copy as a gift. ๐Ÿ™‚

And oh, thanks for the tips. ๐Ÿ™‚

I have been eyeing Kulinarya for some time but I have been holding off buying because I have too many cookbooks already. I read them, drool over them but don’t actually use them. Collect lang ng collect, hahaha. But recently though, I can be found in the kitchen more often so maybe it’s time to get a new inspiration. ๐Ÿ™‚

Coool! I’m eyeing the E63, the cheaper version of the E71. I want I want! I’ll probably get it next month na (pagkatapos ng pay day hehehe). Enjoy CHA!! ๐Ÿ™‚

wow yoyin!!! thanks for sharing the cookbook!!! will get one kasi kailangan ko yan eh…. i really need to learn more new stuff when it comes to cooking….konti lang kasi ang kaalaman ko dyan at kasi yan lang kaligayahan hi henry ( and me) ang kumain hihihi! its really fun reading your posts!!! and ingat ka sa trip mo ha!! e- hi mo nalang kami sa mga makikita mong celebrities dun ha!!! enjoy!

Leave a Reply

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Pages + Projects

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 22,730 hits

BlgAds

Top Clicks

  • None
